History

The Lonas, or Lones, house sits within sight of the Provision campus. Jacob Lones, was one of the first individuals to settle in this area in the early 1790s. At an early age Jacob moved to Shenandoah, Va., married Mary Stickley in 1786, and over the next few years Jacob and a brother took trips to explore East Tennessee. Jacob eventually purchased a large tract of land totaling 200 acres in 1790 and settled there with his wife and children, one of whom was Charles, by 1793. Charles married Rebecca Johnson, brought his new bride to his family homestead. The brick structure originally was just four rooms. Even the bricks were handmade on the property.

The family moved into the house in 1858, but the house wasn’t finished until after the Civil War. In the 1880’s an L-shape addition was built, adding rooms and an indoor kitchen. It was also, during this time the wide wrap porch was added. Charles died in May of 1888 and is interred in a small family cemetery is located just east of the house.

Room Configuration

  • (16’ by 30’)
  • Conference Room Seating – up to 18 people

Audio-Video

  • Conference call capabilities
  • Large format flat screen monitor with laptop connections
  • Video conferencing capabilities